PDA

View Full Version : Ebay villa/condo - read this first :-)


Packerman
5 Jun 09, 09:12 PM
Hi, found this link on a previous thread: http://www.property-appraiser.org/

We have booked a condo at a really good price on ebay. They have their own website and everything looks fine.

Just to put our minds at rest we have checked out the details on the Osceola County Property Appraiser website link we found on a previous thread and found the names of the owners of the condo and their address in the UK matched perfectly to all the details on Ebay and their own website.

Obviously not all ebay villas and condos are scams, some genuine people are advertising to make a living and if prices are cheaper than usual then that reflects the fact that there has been a credit crunch and every sale matters.

We realise there are scammers out there and you need to be careful, but if you do your homework you can get a bargain with a genuine seller. We recommend using this website to check details out.:wavey:

jmt
5 Jun 09, 09:21 PM
I got my Easter accommodation for the last 2 years on eBay.

In 2008 I stayed at Cane Island - 2 bed deluxe condo for £278 for 2 weeks.
In 2009 I stayed at Sandy Ridge - 4 bed villa for £305 for 2 weeks inc pool heating.

There are bargains to be had and the appraisers website is a great find and can put your mind at ease, I used it. :)

berni
5 Jun 09, 11:21 PM
I know afew people that have booked Villas on e-bay without any issues. You need to do reasonable checks like you would with anything else you buy on the internet. If its to good to be true it probably is so I'd just do deeper checks if that is the case.

lizzyj
7 Jun 09, 12:59 PM
I booked last years villa from ebay. Absolutely no problems and villa was beautiful.

Liz

Essex Benjy's!
7 Jun 09, 01:06 PM
I found what i thought was a definate scam on ebay for a 4 bed villa-see if you notice it?! it has a link to a you tube video an it occured to me he may have just rented it himself then filmed it? He only had 2 feedback and both of those i traced back to himself or another with an identical advert. Reported my concerns to ebay and yet the ad's still on there? its 3 months down the line an the ad's still there with the same amount of feedback-you do the maths?!

tinks_friend
7 Jun 09, 02:49 PM
When you goto the property appraiser website what do you click on next to find out who owns the house your renting,sorry to sound a bit dumb but i cant find it

lucy Jenkins
7 Jun 09, 05:16 PM
Click on record search in the list on the left of the page

huglinson
7 Jun 09, 07:06 PM
Hi, found this link on a previous thread: http://www.property-appraiser.org/

We have booked a condo at a really good price on ebay. They have their own website and everything looks fine.

Just to put our minds at rest we have checked out the details on the Osceola County Property Appraiser website link we found on a previous thread and found the names of the owners of the condo and their address in the UK matched perfectly to all the details on Ebay and their own website.

Obviously not all ebay villas and condos are scams, some genuine people are advertising to make a living and if prices are cheaper than usual then that reflects the fact that there has been a credit crunch and every sale matters.

We realise there are scammers out there and you need to be careful, but if you do your homework you can get a bargain with a genuine seller. We recommend using this website to check details out.:wavey:


how did you find out all the details you hve to put on there ? what is a parcel?

laurafoz
10 Jun 09, 09:22 PM
I found what i thought was a definate scam on ebay for a 4 bed villa-see if you notice it?! it has a link to a you tube video an it occured to me he may have just rented it himself then filmed it? He only had 2 feedback and both of those i traced back to himself or another with an identical advert. Reported my concerns to ebay and yet the ad's still on there? its 3 months down the line an the ad's still there with the same amount of feedback-you do the maths?!

Do you remember what the villa was called? I have spotted a lovely villa for £350 a week on ebay, i have emailed him and he has PM'd me the details. The villa is at thousand oaks
it looks genuine but I am worried now. He has quoted me £1000 for 3 weeks including hot tub heating and it has 4 bedrooms!

laurafoz
10 Jun 09, 09:42 PM
how did you find out all the details you hve to put on there ? what is a parcel?

I cant find anyone who I have been interested in renting from

Karma
10 Jun 09, 09:45 PM
I've put my villa on ebay (to rent not for sale ;) ).

To be honest though you get a better price contacting me on the DIBB, due to my 10% off the villa price for fellow DIBBers ;)

huglinson
10 Jun 09, 09:47 PM
guys, please tell me how u get the parcel number

Bee happy
10 Jun 09, 09:47 PM
What is a parcel number ???
Cant get any info on the villa I have booked on e bay :confused2

huglinson
10 Jun 09, 09:49 PM
it says that u need to enter a parcel number on the lik above to check the info

laurafoz
10 Jun 09, 09:55 PM
I've put my villa on ebay (to rent not for sale ;) ).

To be honest though you get a better price contacting me on the DIBB, due to my 10% off the villa price for fellow DIBBers ;)

Thanks Claire, I am not sure what to do now, obviously £335 a week with the other villa seems too good to be true dont it?

dismum
10 Jun 09, 10:26 PM
Each county has its own site so you need to be on the correct one for the county your villa is in.The parcel number is simply a way of identifying the land the property sits on.

huglinson
10 Jun 09, 10:38 PM
yes, i understand that but how do you get hold of a parcel number? i have the names and the address

laurafoz
10 Jun 09, 10:41 PM
yes, i understand that but how do you get hold of a parcel number? I have the names and the address

if you type the surname in it comes up with a list of all with surname

laurafoz
10 Jun 09, 10:42 PM
if you type the surname in it comes up with a list of all with surname

which area of orlando is it in?

billbarbara229
10 Jun 09, 10:46 PM
I cant find anyone who I have been interested in renting from

Were on polk under our names

huglinson
10 Jun 09, 10:48 PM
fab done it thanks, i thought you had to fill it all in

dismum
11 Jun 09, 03:37 AM
Laurafoz

I am in Polk too but my husband name is not John as on our website so you cannot guess at someones name -for example I am Jan but what is my full name ? If you search for John and Jan smith you will never find us

brody-maddison
11 Jun 09, 10:57 AM
That's a great website, just checked out our villa. All legit, thank goodness!