Our West Coast Adventure - July 2009 - Day 6

Day 6 - Wawona and Mariposa Grove
Monday 13th July

Day 5

Us lot…

DH (48) – Enzo – puts up with us and is happy as long as we’re happy

Me (39) – Angelina – the planner and tour guide

DD (16) – Gabriella – my shopping buddy…if there’s a Sephora…we’re in it

DS (13) – Gianni – likes to eat and always has a smile ready when he sees my point the camera at him

Today is our second and last day in Yosemite Following yesterday’s exertions we thought it would be a good idea to take it easy.

I have absolutely no idea what time we got up. I know that we had to do the whole shower/antibiotic cream application thing again whish was getting really tiresome but Gianni’s spots were clearing nicely. Unfortunately, he was getting obsessed about every spot and wanted cream applied to all of them. Now I’m no doctor but even I know that those forehead spots are ‘I’m a teenager spot’! I felt like dousing him in the stuff

Following our in-room breakfast we set off for Yosemite once again and made our way south towards the Mariposa Grove.

We passed the turn-off for Glacier point on the way and thankfully there was a nice queue of traffic so the family didn’t make me feel TOO guilty about dragging them there yesterday.

Forty or so minutes into our drive we stopped at Wawona where it was baking hot. We practically melted when we climbed out of the car.

We visited to Yosemite Pioneer History Centre. There was a lovely display of really old carriages which I unfortunately didn’t photograph and I now regret. We then went into the section which housed old log cabins by walking over a lovely covered bridge…it was like the bridge in the Legend of Sleepy Hollow…I kept expecting the Headless Horseman to come galloping by lol

We had a good nosey through the cabin windows and they certainly were not luxurious but the wood smelt gorgeous….strange girl that I am