Link to this Post
Beaker7929
Imagineer

Beaker7929's Reviews
Hotel Reviews: 3

theDIBB Guidebook
Guidebook Photos: 101
The one in which we go as a family

For this pre-trippie I would like to take you back in time, to a time long forgotten, known as 2011, the year before the Olympics.

My best friend (a fellow Dibber) and I had been talking for many years about taking a trip to DLP together, finally we reached a place in time when this was actually going to become a reality, so we promptly booked 4 nights at the Newport Bay for February half term 2012 for both of us and our DD’s both aged 11. Now we just had to wait a whole year…..as you’ll know in ‘holiday years’, that’s a long time….

But before we knew it, Xmas was done and dusted, the chocolate and cheese had been consumed, drink had been drunk over New Year and we only had to wait a few more weeks.

Then the big day arrived, bright and warm….ok I lie, it had been snowing in the UK and even on the sunny south coast it was a bit nippy. The plan was to rendezvous at her house the Sunday night before we travelled to DLP to drive to Ashford and stay the night in the Ashford North Premier Inn. This is where the story becomes interesting, because no more than 5 minutes before we arrived at her house, my DS then aged just 18mths, emptied the contents of his tummy all over the car seat. Despite my best efforts to avoid this unwelcome guest Norovirus had arrived at the Paisley-Lohan household. Now, DS and OH were not joining us on this trip as previously mentioned, this was a girls only trip. This meant that OH was dispatched back home to continue to clear up the unmentionable and we hit the road….accompanied by the biggest suitcase full of mothers guilt at leaving her poor, sick son without his Mama.