theDIBB

theDIBB (https://www.thedibb.co.uk/forums/index.php)
-   General Chat (https://www.thedibb.co.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=55)
-   -   Clothes smelling musty (https://www.thedibb.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=1153121)

Princesa 20 Nov 19 07:10 PM

Clothes smelling musty

Hi!

I have a dress that smells musty every time I wear it. Other things that go in the wash with it come out smelling fine. I tumble dry things, but I’m wondering if it needs a lot longer than the other things and therefore it’s still damp when I take it out? It’s only ever this one dress, so it’s weird. I’ve never used tumble dryer sheets before, would they help?

pinkstargirl 20 Nov 19 07:40 PM

I had this with a pair of jeans and one of my work polo shirts - they'd always smell damp even though washed and dried with other similar items that were fine - I don't use a dryer though, they get hung on a clothes horse. I now wash them at 60 and they smell fine. It might be risky with a dress but it's one option!

JoJo88 20 Nov 19 09:11 PM

DS has a thing with his school jumpers, however with him, they’re fine when he leaves the house, but when he gets home his jumpers are really musty. Poor kid, I sniff him whenever he comes in! We think perhaps it might be the school bus, but I’m having to stop myself sniffing his mates too to see if they’re the same ;):pgig:

He also has a drawer of football shirts and some of them develop a funny smell, yet his brother’s shirts don’t. It’s very frustrating not knowing why!

archibald 20 Nov 19 11:48 PM

Try white vinegar in the softener bit of your washing machine. My son's fleece onsie developed an 'interesting' aroma which was zapped by vinegar.

Minnie18 20 Nov 19 11:55 PM

I don't have a tumble dryer and dry my washing in front of my log fire. I swear by home bargains little pearl balls/or Tesco own brand. they make your clothes smell lovely.

In home bargains it was Lenor un stoppable for a few pounds.

mouli1 21 Nov 19 09:38 AM