theDIBB

theDIBB (https://www.thedibb.co.uk/forums/index.php)
-   Car Hire & Transportation (https://www.thedibb.co.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=226)
-   -   2 children car seat hire help! (https://www.thedibb.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=1112599)

Laing 14 Jan 19 12:39 PM

2 children car seat hire help!

Hi we have a BA fly drive and require 2 car seats for 2yr and 5yrs we there for 20 days this works out at $560 for the trip to rent a two seats does anyone know if I can buy online and arrange delivery to Avis or is the fact or having to haul them from the UK ?

Any advise would be very much appreciated

Thank you

Mr Tom Morrow 14 Jan 19 12:43 PM

I'm not an expert on Avis but my understanding is if you deal with them direct the cost is:-

USD 13.00 per day
Max. $65 per rental

Those figures are per seat.

Tel 1-800-230-4849 with your booking reference number.

Laing 14 Jan 19 12:53 PM

Great thank you

Hibby70 14 Jan 19 08:18 PM

We've got a Bubblebum car seat which we used for Uber on our last trip. Hiring a car this time round so had planned to use it from the airport and pick up a proper backed booster on the way to the villa.

Anyone know the best chain to get one from - eg Walmart, target etc

Zomax25 14 Jan 19 08:22 PM

I would NEVER hire a car seat. Buy a cheap one and take it with you (the hires ones will be cheap). All airlines allow car seats for kids free. We even take for our eldest, who was 8 last time.

Gadge 14 Jan 19 10:27 PM

We took two car seats with us..what hassle if was.

Tip 1 - get a bag to put the seat in, they are on Amazon for £5 or so but make it easier to drag around.

Tip 2 - take some string or bungee cord or something you can use to tie the seat bags from tip 1 to the airport trolley since the trolleys are pretty small

LLamb 14 Jan 19 11:25 PM

We always take our own, this year we have 6 and 2 year olds.