theDIBB

theDIBB (https://www.thedibb.co.uk/forums/index.php)
-   Guest Services (https://www.thedibb.co.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=57)
-   -   Using iphone as wifi hotspot (https://www.thedibb.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=1180440)

mickey house 19 Sep 20 03:51 PM

Using iphone as wifi hotspot
 
I want to set up a wifi cctv camera where no wifi is available by using an old iphone with a payg data sim card which will be permanently plugged in (there is mains power but no wifi where the wifi cctv camera is going). I'm assuming that even though the wifi cctv camera will be permanently connected to the iphone via wifi, it will only cost me data when I access the cctv camera or when it sends me updates, so I would appreciate if anyone can confirm this is correct?

kk20 19 Sep 20 03:54 PM

Correct. Any data from the phone (which will still operate and download updates etc) or the camera will incur data charges. Note that camera apps still tend to send data even when not in use.

mickey house 19 Sep 20 04:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kk20 (Post 14652178)
Correct. Any data from the phone (which will still operate and download updates etc) or the camera will incur data charges. Note that camera apps still tend to send data even when not in use.

Many thanks that's reassuring. I don't mind using data but I don't want it to use it non stop 24 hours a day:grin:.

BerkshireBugsy 19 Sep 20 04:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mickey house (Post 14652175)
I want to set up a wifi cctv camera where no wifi is available by using an old iphone with a payg data sim card which will be permanently plugged in (there is mains power but no wifi where the wifi cctv camera is going). I'm assuming that even though the wifi cctv camera will be permanently connected to the iphone via wifi, it will only cost me data when I access the cctv camera or when it sends me updates, so I would appreciate if anyone can confirm this is correct?

I would have thought the answer was 'it depends"

If, for example, you have a camera which has motion detection it *may* generate traffic if it detects motion - depends if it has that capability and if it is enabled.

mickey house 19 Sep 20 04:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BerkshireBugsy (Post 14652185)
I would have thought the answer was 'it depends"

If, for example, you have a camera which has motion detection it *may* generate traffic if it detects motion - depends if it has that capability and if it is enabled.

It will have pir that will send alerts but where it's going it won't trigger very often so I guess it would use a low amount of data per month from being triggered. I appreciate that if I want to monitor the camera it will cost data, but I only plan to do that for a few seconds a day to check the camera is still working okay.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin - Copyright © 2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.