Notices

Old 5 Sep 21, 10:14 PM  
Link to this Post
Mqt
Apprentice Imagineer

AMI after a 15 night layover. Aug/Sept/Oct-2021 Pre-Trip Report

So, I’ve never written a trip report before, despite visiting Florida many, many times since the mid-eighties. If it wasn’t for Covid, I doubt I’d have ever written one but I’ve loved reading so many over the years and as they are so few and far between at the moment I decided to try to ‘pay back’.

I’ll warn you now, it might be rubbish! It might be boring, as there are no theme parks involved. There will probably be some ‘housey’ stuff and mentions of what we get up to around AMI and I may well run out of steam before I’ve hardly begun! I know a lot of Dibbers like AMI so hopefully this trip report might give some ideas of what to do off the beaten track.

Well, here we go!

Preamble

Who are we?

A pair of fifty-somethings. Married for more years than we care to remember. 3 grown up children and 5 (soon to be 6) grandchildren.

Background to the trip

We have a house in Anna Maria so are (normally!) very regular visitors to Florida. In the year before the pandemic, I clocked up nearly 5 months in the sunshine state, with Mr Mqt doing slightly less.

We last visited AMI in Jan/Feb 2020. We were due to fly back out around the 20th March……well that didn’t happen did it?

We shuffled our remaining flights around for the rest of the year, rebooking our March 2020 flight for mid-April…..Oh the naivety! We carried on with this process on a loop until…..until around now really!

In between our ‘couple’ trips, August 2020 was supposed to be a big family trip to Disney, followed by a family week on AMI, with the two of us then retreating to our (peaceful!) house for a month or so.