Notices
General Chat This forum is for general topics and chat type threads.

Old 4 Oct 20, 09:10 PM  
Link to this Post
sam_b
Imagineer

House clear/auction advice

Hi
My dad (76) has lived in the same house for 55 years and has just sold it and found another house.
His current house is huge and filled with things that he and my late mum bought and items that their parents and relatives passed on.
Dad has said he wants to start afresh in the new house and pretty much just move his clothes and himself ... I find that a little disturbing but respect his decision - my sister and I will try to remove anything sentimental (to us, he doesn’t seem to have sentimental attachment to anything). That will leave a lot of stuff - some is junk, fit for a skip, some is usable perhaps for charity, some more is possibly collectible/antique - I am no expert - things like 30s coffee set, some ornaments passed down, pictures and some old period furniture.
Does anyone have any advice as to how we help dad with this? Obviously we have Covid restrictions and limited time to resolve this ... 😯
sam_b is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 4 Oct 20, 09:15 PM  
Link to this Post
Cherrypie
Imagineer

Mobile

It sounds a bit sad but maybe he’s making things easier dealing with sentimental things while he’s still around to help you. A lot of charities are taking things but have some restrictions on timings etc

The most magical place on earth
Cherrypie is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 4 Oct 20, 09:49 PM  
Link to this Post
parisdisneyfan
Imagineer