Notices
General Chat This forum is for general topics and chat type threads.

Old 25 Jul 18, 01:48 AM  
Link to this Post
Imagineer

Splitting the bill!

I am sure this will result in lots of discussion, but going to ask for your opinion.

Just back from a lovely end of term Thai meal ( I work in a school) for 25 colleagues.

We all had our meal and some people ordered starters, main meals and drinks.
I had a curry, rice and 2 alcoholic drinks, but decided not to have a starter.

At the end of the meal, one half of the table got their bill and paid. Then our end got our bill.

I don't usually mind splitting the bill if most people have had the same.

But one of the teachers announced it would be £24 per person if we split it. I saw the lady I was sitting next to face drop. She had a curry, rice and coke which came to £14. The teacher had had a meal which cost £11, some rice or noodles, shared a starter and had 6 bottles of beer at £3 each. Hmm, who was getting a good deal there?

So I felt I had to say something mainly for the lady next to me as she was just going to pay it. I was made to feel a bit like I was a tight wad, but for that lady especially, it was a big unfair.

I do think people take advantage sometimes or maybe I shouldn't have mentioned it.

I have been worrying a little about it!
1972 is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 25 Jul 18, 02:01 AM  
Link to this Post
KeithOP
Serious Dibber

definitely unfair, no one could say otherwise and better to pipe up at the time than let it annoy you for days after.

Having said that, me personally, I either say up front I'd prefer to pay for my own (I sometimes make it clear it's because I wont be having much or whatever), or, if I go with the group decision to split, I just pay an even split even if I lose out massively.