Notices
General Chat This forum is for general topics and chat type threads.

Old 18 Sep 17, 11:36 AM  
Link to this Post
TheDisneyCouple
Imagineer

What to ask the solicitor?

Booked in with a divorce solicitor later today. The average cost of an initial meeting in my area is £120 (no free half hours apparently) so i want to make the most of the meeting.

I'm going on my own so I'm making a list of questions. What should I have on there?
TheDisneyCouple is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 18 Sep 17, 11:44 AM  
Link to this Post
skalexander
Imagineer

What is it you're hoping to achieve from the meeting? Do you just want to know how to get a divorce or are you wanting advice on splitting your finances also?

I am a lawyer and often see people in the immediate aftermath of a marriage breakup, but they rarely know what they want from me, so it makes it difficult for me to help them. For a lot of people, it seems to be a knee-jerk reaction - "we've broken up, I need a lawyer" - but often they don't.
Old 18 Sep 17, 11:45 AM  
Link to this Post
Colette-S
Bon viveur and shopaholic

Colette-S's Reviews
Hotel Reviews: 1
You need basic financial advice now so you know how things will work until a final agreement is reached. Take as much info as possible re earnings, value of property, pensions etc. First appointment is usually food for thought. Most decent solicitors will give some solid basic advice and then tell you to go home and think it over as once you start the process it's really hard to stop. If you intend to proceed you will need your marriage cert and forms of ID
Colette-S is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 18 Sep 17, 12:04 PM  
Link to this Post
TheDisneyCouple
Imagineer

Originally Posted by skalexander View Post