Notices
General Chat This forum is for general topics and chat type threads.

Old 3 May 21, 01:30 PM  
Link to this Post
Snowball24
Imagineer

Has anyone sucessfully contested a will?

Hi

Don't want to give details but may need to make a claim or contest a will of someone who passed. I have heard its a long process, can be stressful etc, hoping for no win no fee if do proceed.
Just wondering if anyone out there has been through it?

Thank you
Snowball24 is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 3 May 21, 01:38 PM  
Link to this Post
Lou1982
VIP Dibber

Lou1982's Reviews
Hotel Reviews: 4
Restaurant Reviews: 22
DIBB Villa Reviews: 1
I have never personally contested a will but I used to be a solicitor (I no longer practice) and have some experience of probate matters including a few contested wills.

You really need to speak to a solicitor and outline your case, they will advise if you have a reasonable prospect of success. Personally speaking contested wills cases I have been involved in have always been fraught with emotion and draining both financially and mentally for all parties involved. It’s definitely not an action to be pursued lightly.

I’m in NI, where conditional fee agreements (no win no fee) are not allowed, so I can’t advise on that aspect.

Edited at 01:42 PM.
Lou1982 is online now Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 3 May 21, 01:50 PM  
Link to this Post
vampiress88
Imagineer

Originally Posted by Snowball24 View Post
Hi

Don't want to give details but may need to make a claim or contest a will of someone who passed. I have heard its a long process, can be stressful etc, hoping for no win no fee if do proceed.
Just wondering if anyone out there has been through it?

Thank you
I think I did. Not too sure if that’s what it was.

My dad died when I was 17 and left us nothing.
He had changed his Will very shortly before he died to his new wife.