Notices

Old 23 Aug 15, 06:48 PM  
Link to this Post
ally1966
Imagineer

A Complete Novice In New York - Travel Day Part 1, We're Off!

23rd August 2015

Today began with a round of emotional goodbyes to some of the family members who aren't joining us on this trip.

First off we took my Mum, who lives with us, to her sister's where she will be staying while we're away. She would have loved to be at her Grandson's wedding but decided that, at 83, she is just too old to make the journey.

Next we visited my oldest son, Stuart and his family who are also unable to come - with 3 young children he just can't afford it.

It was eventually 2.30pm and time to leave for the station and catch our train to Manchester so we had to say the worst goodbye of the lot - to DH (Mick, Father of the Groom). He decided as soon as the New York wedding was suggested that a city break was his idea of hell and he wasn't coming. So he will be spending the week home alone with the dog - apart from the Wedding Day itself when he will be joined by the Bride's Dad who has also refused to come. We will be Face Timing them on the day so that they can watch the ceremony as it happens.

I was dreading the train journey, with 3 kids, 4 suitcase + hand luggage. We had to change trains twice and then get a taxi to the hotel and I was convinced that someone would leave something on the train or that we'd miss a connection! I've been really stressing about this all week. So I'm pleased to report that we and all our belonging have arrived safely!

The trains were all running on time (for a change) and the journey went as smoothly as I could possibly have hoped for. The only near mishap was when Chloe's suitcase got left on the platform but a fellow traveller shouted after us to ask if it was ours and kindly carried it on board - I don't know who she was but she was a lifesaver.