Notices
General Trip Reports Reports that don't fit in to the other categories

Old 1 Jun 17, 09:25 PM  
Link to this Post
Beth_Disney
Imagineer

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - mini-trippie - #keepthesecrets

Me and my DH have just returned from 3 days in London where the highlight was seeing part 1 and part 2 of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. This is my first attempt at a trip report so please be kind!

There will not be ANY spoilers for the play included; I'll just say that after waiting 10 months between buying the tickets and seeing the play I was not disappointed. It was fantastic and it's even got its own hashtag for social media #keepthesecrets. I'll respect the wishes of the genius that is JK Rowling!

Day 1

We got the train from Birmingham to London Euston at 11am and it was one of the most annoying train journeys I've ever been on! :angry: It was a London Midlands service and took 2.5hrs to get to London. I normally travel on Virgin trains to London and this train was poor by comparison. Very much 1st world problems but there was no shop, no reserved seating, no trolley, no wifi, no charging points.

When we arrived at Euston it was warm and sunny so we had a walk to our hotel rather than getting the tube. Our chosen hotel was the St Giles which is a large hotel close to Tottenham Court Road tube station. I've stayed here more times than I can remember as it's a hotel the company I used to work for got a good rate on and I've stayed there a few times when paying myself (like this trip). For the price I think it's excellent value - we paid £204 for 2 nights. They've renovated the reception since the last time I stayed there and added wifi but the rooms are still the same. I don't think it would be for everyone as the normal guest rooms are no frills but it's clean, the beds are comfy and the location is excellent.