Notices
TV and Film This forum is for those DIBB members that want to discuss TV and Films.

Old 24 Apr 19, 02:06 PM  
Link to this Post
LOU LOU DISNEY
VIP Dibber

Can I watch BBC iplayer on the flight with WiFi?

Sorry that’s maybe a silly question 😳 I’m not very tech savvy! I plan to pay for full WiFi on our flight on Sunday on the virgin Dreamliner , & I’ll be missing line of duty lol wondering can I watch it?
LOU LOU DISNEY is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 24 Apr 19, 02:15 PM  
Link to this Post
BucksBugsy
All round good bloke

It's an interesting question this one. Are you saying that at the time of transmission of this programme you will be in the air ?

I can see a couple of potential problems here.

1) if - for example - the connection point from the aircraft wifi is outside of the UK iplayer may not allow you to watch material saying 'not available outside of the UK'.

2) even if the above didn't happen then the connection speed of the wifi may not be enough to stream wifi.

If you are really desperate to watch this program then I would suggest that you waited until you got proper access to proper wifi abroad BUT this may need you to use something called a VPN... have I lost you yet ?
Old 24 Apr 19, 02:18 PM  
Link to this Post
Whitequeen
Imagineer

Whitequeen's Reviews
Restaurant Reviews: 1
As BB says you would have to watch Iplayer through a VPN. I wanted to watch Killing Eve last year but Iplayer says it isn't available in that country.
I personally, don't think Virgin Wifi is good enough to stream even if you could get it. x
Just my experiences, however.

West Coast Visits-5
Whitequeen is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 24 Apr 19, 04:37 PM  
Link to this Post
LOU LOU DISNEY
VIP Dibber

I’ve no clue what VPN is so I’ll just wait till I get back off holiday! I must keep offline as I don’t want to hear or see what’s happened!