Nellie75
Having Dinner with Goofy

New York, February 2020

Joanne, 45 trip organiser
John, 49
Jack, 16
Joe, 13
Gemma, 10

This is my first trip report and as it was lockdown, on a rota for work, I thought I might give it a go!
I usually plan all the holidays deciding where we should go next. John isn't that bothered where we go but he did mention a few years back that he wanted to visit New York. I didn't need telling twice!
A friend of mine had been several times at February half term and as I was a teacher that worked, as well as being told it was the cheapest too! It would be our first visit for us all!
John would be turning 50 this year so I set about looking for prices for February. I just looked at BA.com and set myself a target of less than £3000! Last May bank holiday there was a sale on and there it was. I had to book it!
5 nights at the Riu Plaza, Times Square with breakfast included.
Manchester - Dublin - JFK
JFK - Heathrow - Manchester
We decided not to tell the children but give it to them as part of their Christmas present. It was hard not to talk about it for all those months especially when John doesn't like the planning mode!
My months were spent reading theDibb and talking secretly with my friend!

On Christmas Day I placed a suitcase on the floor with presents inside and a scratchcard each to reveal the destination. Gemma was the first to see the case and make a comment that we might be going on holiday! When everything else was opened they scratched their cards to reveal the Statue of Liberty, The Rockefellar Centre and finally the destination - New York! I think it was 53 days from this point so they wanted to know when, where and for how long. The discussions could begin! Only when they told family and friends did it seem an extravagant gift! They were very surprised. I had kept it a complete secret! Well mostly!

Travel Day, Saturday 15th February