Notices
Trip Planning Florida Florida Holiday Planning Questions, Suggestions and Tips.

Old 11 Apr 20, 03:30 PM  
Link to this Post
LawrenceFamily
Imagineer

90 days wait for refund - Virgin Atlantic

Hi all,

After 90 minutes I finally got through to Virgin to cancel our flights for mid-August. We had an airmiles booking with some cash to make up the taxes.

They advised refunds can take up to 90 days because of the sheer volume of requests they are receiving. Air miles will be refunded immediately. I did push this and they quoted some guidance from the European Commission as Covid-19 is an unprecedented situation - completely understand this as a business owner myself - but a little shocked.

Just with the current climate, this makes me a little anxious given waiting 3 months for refund means anything could happen for VA! Say the worst was to happen and they went bust, is our money gone? We booked by credit card.

Thoughts? Anyone else in a similar situation?

Thanks.

Thanks,
Sam
Old 11 Apr 20, 03:36 PM  
Link to this Post
mick
VIP Dibber

mick's Reviews
Hotel Reviews: 1
If VS go bust you should be covered under Section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act and be refunded by your CC provider.

Sadly just like hundreds of Dibbers were when Thomas Cook failed last September. We were reasonably lucky with the TC failure as Tesco CC refunded us within 3 weeks. The next thing we did on the day that TC went bust was to book Virgin for 21 April.

I'd also love to know how to enforce a quicker refund from VS but sadly live in the real and current world.

Mick
Old 11 Apr 20, 04:26 PM  
Link to this Post
tspill
Imagineer

Originally Posted by LawrenceFamily View Post
Hi all,

After 90 minutes I finally got through to Virgin to cancel our flights for mid-August. We had an airmiles booking with some cash to make up the taxes.