Notices
Additional Support Needs & DAS Help & advice

Old 14 Dec 21, 02:07 PM  
Link to this Post
babycanaansmum
Very Serious Dibber

Unexpectedly my son is in wheelchair - going Thursday!

Hello,

I am really looking for any advice at all - we are travelling to Orlando on Thursday! My son had an accident on Friday in school (he is 13) the hospital believe he has a torn meniscus they call it bucket handle tear. He has had an MRI today and meeting the consultant tomorrow to go through the results.

The problem we now have is he is unable to extend his leg (his knee is locked in to a bent position) and cannot stand on crutches very long. The consultant said we can go but he would obviously be limited in what he can / cant do. He wants to go as does my husband.

I would be so grateful for any advice at all as I have no knowledge of any assistance related matters at all. I have hired a wheelchair which he can push his self and wanted to take this with us.
Old 14 Dec 21, 05:09 PM  
Link to this Post
Jennywren
VIP Dibber

So sorry to hear this.

Your first call needs to be to the Special Assistance Team at the airline you are flying with. They will help guide you with what is / is not possible regarding travel and taking the wheelchair with you. Need to do this urgently as there may be extra medical forms you need completing.

Also contact your Travel Insurers and explain what has happened. You may have to pay an extra fee to cover his current medical situation.

Once this done then look at talking to Guest Services at the theme parks etc once you get there for a DAS pass.

Hope this helps.
Jennywren is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 14 Dec 21, 05:12 PM  
Link to this Post
wdw-wanderer
Apprentice Imagineer