Old 2 Nov 21, 01:13 PM  
Link to this Post
Goldia
VIP Dibber

Goldia's Reviews
Hotel Reviews: 5
Restaurant Reviews: 43
Pizza, Pasta and Prosecco - Rome October 2021 Day 1 Monday 25th October

Day 1 Monday 25th October - The Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, pizza for lunch, pasta and prosecco for dinner!

I did not sleep well, largely due to the bed having the firmest mattress in the world. Seriously, as a student I think I slept on floorboards that were softer!

My fitbit informed me I’d had a glorious 3hr 28 min of sleep with a score of 55 which is rated poor. Heaven knows how bad you have to sleep to get a score lower than 50.

The kids were super keen to get up, go to breakfast early and then crack on with the day… not my kids you understand, that was the kids in the room next door. My kids were doing a really good job of pretending they weren’t awake.

I took a few snaps from our windows.

It was really lovely to have windows on two aspects. One side was a busy shopping street, the other lots of tall buildings, presumably apartments and offices.

Eventually the kids couldn’t fake sleep anymore and we managed to convince them to get up, shower and get dressed so that we could go down to breakfast.

This was the same set up each day. It was a self-service buffet with coffee machines, lots of juices, cereals, bread and rolls, pastries, cakes, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, salads and fresh fruit. Masks were expected to be worn while walking around but as soon as you are seated they can be removed.

We all found things we enjoyed. My favourite was the croissant stuffed with custard, this was really quite tasty. I didn’t bother taking any photos of the breakfast room or the food and so you will have to imagine the croissants and coffee.

We left the hotel at around 10am and headed towards the river, this is the opposite direction to the Vatican, but our booking for the museum was 11.30am so we had time to spare and we fancied the scenic route.