Notices
Car Hire & Transportation Discuss the best way of getting around Florida.

Old 20 Aug 17, 05:31 PM  
Link to this Post

To hire a car or not to hire a car?

Hi everyone,

I am new to this thread, currently planning our once in a lifetime trip for summer 2019. I know I might be a little premature but I want to be ready to book next April having done as much research as possible, and I'm so glad I found this site as it's quite overwhelming with how much there is to think about. One thing I can't decide on is whether car hire is necessary or not? We are planning to stay on International drive and I've been reading about how good the free shuttle buses are and uber. I keep thinking car hire could be a big expense which isn't needed. Please let me know what you experts think. Many thanks to anyone who replies x
Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 20 Aug 17, 05:54 PM  
Link to this Post
TillySmith
Excited about Disney

Hi and welcome to the Dibb, we would never think of not hiring a car in Florida, there is so much to do and see away from the parks, it really depends on what you are going to do whilst there. If you are only visiting the parks then you probably could get away without a car, I am sure many people will come on and say they have visited and not hired a car.
Sorry I can't be more helpful, I just would not feel as if I had seen or experienced much other then the parks if I was relying on either shuttle buses or Uber to get me around.
You have lots of time to decide, Good Luck.

Pam
TillySmith is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 20 Aug 17, 06:01 PM  
Link to this Post
mick
VIP Dibber

mick's Reviews
Hotel Reviews: 1
Welcome from me as well. Have to agree with Pam.

Dozens or maybe hundreds of Dibbers get by perfectly well using Uber, Lynx buses, hotel shuttles and the like but having been over 30 times and hired a car every time I just couldn't imagine being without one.