Notices
General Chat This forum is for general topics and chat type threads.

Old 31 Oct 18, 04:22 PM  
Link to this Post
pineapple515
Earning More Ears

Help with maths

Hi All,

Applied for teacher training course for sep 2019. I need to pass maths and english skills test.

I can, very much to my surprise, pass the English one fine when using practice papers. However, i'm failing badly at maths. The first section has 10 questions which are 60 seconds long, they are mental arithmetic questions. I'm finding these the hardest, they are long questions and by the time I get my head around them time is up.

I was really good at maths in school, college and uni. I'm currently a software dev and I feel like I've gotten lazy over time as I do everything via comp. Any advice? It's questions like working out fractions/remembering how to divide on paper/working on percentages etc! Links to any useful resources would be more than welcome.

Thanks!
pineapple515 is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 31 Oct 18, 05:10 PM  
Link to this Post
Disney Dreaming
VIP Dibber

Originally Posted by pineapple515 View Post
Hi All,

Applied for teacher training course for sep 2019. I need to pass maths and english skills test.

I can, very much to my surprise, pass the English one fine when using practice papers. However, i'm failing badly at maths. The first section has 10 questions which are 60 seconds long, they are mental arithmetic questions. I'm finding these the hardest, they are long questions and by the time I get my head around them time is up.

I was really good at maths in school, college and uni. I'm currently a software dev and I feel like I've gotten lazy over time as I do everything via comp. Any advice? It's questions like working out fractions/remembering how to divide on paper/working on percentages etc! Links to any useful resources would be more than welcome.

Thanks!