Notices
General Chat This forum is for general topics and chat type threads.

Old 11 Nov 18, 11:00 PM  
Link to this Post
cherub85
Very Serious Dibber

Mobile Schools and Remembrance day

Just out of interest did many of your children’s schools not do anything for Remembrance Day? I am a head teacher in a small market town and always go with a couple of the children to lay a wreath and participate in the parade and service. As do the other three schools and even the pre school. This year all the schools did other things such as making different types of poppies for the town display and there is a festival of remembrance next week held jointly by the schools. I was surprised yesterday when one of my good friends said her school did nothing as the head won’t let them go off timetable. Seems sad. My dd secondary school always hold a short service and a silence in the quad, and children can go in scout/cadet uniform etc and she says everyone is very respectful. Just made me wonder if many schools didn’t do anything especially in this very significant year?
cherub85 is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 11 Nov 18, 11:17 PM  
Link to this Post
BevS97
VIP Dibber

BevS97's Reviews
Hotel Reviews: 7

theDIBB Guidebook
Pages Created: 9
Guidebook Photos: 18
Guidebook Reviews: 7
Mobile

We had a history day before half term and the children made crafts with poppies on and talked about the war. On Friday we just had a minutes silence.
BevS97 is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 11 Nov 18, 11:25 PM  
Link to this Post
hermione25
VIP Dibber