Notices
Accommodation Hotels, Resorts, Villas Questions and Info

Old 12 Apr 21, 02:56 PM  
Link to this Post
Enchanted
Imagineer

Pros and Cons of different types of accommodation?

I'll start by saying I've been visiting Orlando since 1989, I've been as a child, teenager, then with my fiance/exhusband as a couple.
I've stayed in Idrive standard motel accommodation and also at Disney onsite (Value, Mods and Deluxe). I've always preferred hotels as they feel like a holiday to me, I enjoy having shops and restaurants on site, and nice swimming pools and grounds to explore.

In 2023 we're planning on visiting with me, DH, DS (will be nearly 6) and DD (will be 2 and 3 quarters). DD is currently a newborn but I coslept with DS and we've always been a family that's happy to spend time together in one room (Me and DH wouldn't put the kids to bed on a family holiday for couple time if that makes sense).

I can't decide what to look at for our trip?

Can anyone give me pros and cons of a villa/hotel with those ages of children? Is there another option I'm missing?
We will have a car.
Enchanted is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 12 Apr 21, 03:37 PM  
Link to this Post
babbymint
Imagineer

Maybe one of the resorts with an on-site water park for added fun?
babbymint is offline Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 12 Apr 21, 10:18 PM  
Link to this Post
ely3857
Imagineer

During that age range we took our two kids to POFQ and OKW. Both are super Disney but very calming. We had a car for their younger trips but other than Walmart etc we mainly stayed onsite.

As you say, we were on holiday as family and one room didn’t bother us at all. As we were getting up with the kids in the morning going to sleep at the same time on an evening wasn’t really an issue!

Early on the trips we’d be in bed resting/sleeping at 20:00 (mainly jet lag induced) but that got later and later each day as we all acclimatised.