Notices
Food, Wine, Cooking & Eating Discussion on all things food related. Sharing recipes and giving tips and tricks to great food.

Old 12 May 20, 09:05 AM  
Link to this Post
Wazowski
Surfing at Typhoon Lagoon

Grilling with a meat thermometer

Hi guys!
I'm going to camp with my family in June for a week or so. We want to make a camp with tents, hammocks, fishing and so on. I'm a big BBQ lover and my children too, but unfortunately, I'm an eater, not a maker. We're going to grill some meat, but I have no experience in charcoal grilling. (I got used to electric grills).
I searched for some info on the internet and found an article about grilling, where was said about meat thermometers. I have poor experience in grilling meat, so I think this accessory will be useful. Since I don't savvy in grilling, so I'd like to get your wise and experienced advice on that. Currently, choosing from this page, but I'm also open to all other options. Which one will fit better for me? Also, I discovered that there are 2 types of thermometers: leave-in and instant-read which one is better for beginner grill-maker?

Edited at 12:07 PM.
Wazowski is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 12 May 20, 09:25 AM  
Link to this Post
YorkshireT
Imagineer

Mobile

Hi. I do BBQ / smoking.

The first thing to consider is what will you be doing. Cooking on a gas grill is not BBQ or smoking, it’s grilling as you identify. It’s pretty awful to be honest you may as well do it inside- but I’m into proper BBQ and we don’t like gas grilling.

Grilling (preferably on charcoal) is fine for steak or other thin cuts of meat but for anything else you really want to go indirect cooking or smoking.