Old 23 Oct 19, 10:20 PM  
Link to this Post
jocat
VIP Dibber

theDIBB Guidebook
Guidebook Photos: 67
Five Days in Washington DC - October 2019

Five Days in Washington DC - October 2019

Well it’s pre-trippie time, and for the second year running, I’m managing to write this prior to our arrival at the airport hotel the night before we travel. Believe me, that is such an achievement!

Our usual holidays are based in the summer - I work in a school so have to stick to school holidays. However, this year was very different - I had to work for at least 3 weeks of the holidays, Martin had a work project on for 5 weeks of the possible 6 weeks and our daughter gave birth to our granddaughter. Not going away then didn’t bother me a bit for this lovely reason.

We decided to try and find somewhere to go in October half-term and after looking at the prices for a week in Europe, , we decided to look for a city break further afield.

We love exploring different parts of America, so it didn’t take long for Washington DC to be mentioned - it had been on our wish lists for a while. So we started looking at flights. We hoped to travel in Premium Economy, so our preferred airline for this was Virgin - for us, BA’s PE doesn’t come close in terms of seat comfort and value for money compared to Virgin. I’d had an email about Virgin Holidays having a sale, so decided to look there for ideas of cost, and then compare it with booking everything separately.

I hadn’t got a clue about the different areas to stay though and there weren’t that many choices of hotel. I found a decent VH flight and hotel deal with The Fairmont, which looked lovely, then frantically started reading hotel reviews and recommendations for where to stay or where to avoid. I also loved the look of the rooms at the Watergate Hotel - decisions, decisions. 🤔