Notices

Old 16 May 19, 07:20 PM  
Link to this Post
cornishfrogboy
VIP Dibber

8 More days to go ! Planes trains and automobiles. Boston,NY,Dayton,Orlando,Naples

Planes, trains and automobiles.
This is my first pre trip report, (buoyed after the take up on my first trip report (California N to South at Easter), that I had huge fun compiling).

This is our 10th US trip since 2005 and from initial on site, budget Disney, we have expanded our horizons as our experience and confidence grew. Our signature prevents my duplicating these trips.

Family.
We are a family of Dave and Mandie plus our boys, Dan (16 years old and currently doing GCSE’s) and Matt (13 years going on 33 if you ask him).

Aims.
From a’once in a lifetime’ first visit, we have now aimed at the USA as a whole with a long term aim of seeing all of the Mainland US seaboard plus Hawaii and minus Alaska.

Background.
I am a former soldier (REME Aircraft Technician Sgt), retired Police Officer (DC in Cornwall) and now a Security Officer at the local Hospital as I mark time towards retirement. Mandie is a redundant Scenes of Crime Technician who is now an Administrator at the local Crown Court. We like travel in general and the USA in particular.
David and Mandie

Dan.

Cadet Matt

The all important plan, now all booked and mostly purchased as a DIY.
Built around a London-Boston flight on 18 July and a Miami-London flight on 09 August. I Often plan vacations in this way. buying the long hauls, then filling in the gaps. The carrier, Norwegian has messed about with the return leg, moving it and then causing us to shorten our vacation by a day in order to remain on one of their Dreamliner. All is booked with only the Beavercreek Hotel and Orlando car hire left to pay for.

Day1. A train journey, Penryn to LGW with champagne, followed by an evening meal and night in the Prem Inn. The Prem Inn is very much a family tradition as is the buffet breakfast.