Notices

Old 4 Jun 16, 01:33 PM  
Link to this Post
anji
VIP Dibber

Road Trip - Seattle to San Francisco!

I’ve never done any sort of trip report before – this trip has been so much fun to plan over the past year (not that all the others haven’t too!) that I thought I’d have a crack at it. Thanks must go to Geoffa for his wonderful reports from the area in the past – these have helped immensely and provided lots of inspiration.

It’s me and DH Will on the trip. I’m the obsessive DIY planner and lover of all things nature related and he basically goes along with everything provided there’s some music thrown in along the way! We’ve both become attracted to the area through being avid Grimm fans and will visit some of the locations in Portland too.

I booked the flights with BA into Seattle flying on 7 June and home from San Francisco on 23 June when they were released and then started booking places to stay on free cancellation for most of them. Priority was Crater Lake Lodge which can fill up a year in advance.

We’ve opted not to do huge amounts of driving in one day – longest is 250 miles – as I’ve scoured the maps and found loads of things to visit and places to stop and admire the views along the way, so don’t want to be rushed and stressed. All the hotels/motels are based on location, free parking, free wifi and price. We don’t spend ages in the room so only use them as a base. I’ve chopped and changed a few and am really happy with what we have now.

We’re flying into Seattle for 4 nights but not picking up the car until we leave as it’s not needed there. I’ve got us a City Pass which looks great value for the usual suspect attractions – Space Needle x 2 visits, Chihuly Gardens, EMP Museum, Aquarium and Harbour Cruise. I’ve also booked both the Free Walking Tours and the Spooked in Seattle tour. We’re also going to do the Underground Tour, Columbia Tower and possibly the ferry to Bainbridge Island.