Notices
Car Hire & Transportation Discuss the best way of getting around Florida.

Old 12 Nov 21, 10:39 PM  
Link to this Post
orlandoamber
Imagineer

First time driving in USA

We will be driving in the USA for the first time in a couple of weeks - I say ‘we’ however it is my fiancé doing the driving as I am a terrible driver! Anyway… just wondering if I can pick your brains and get a bit of reassurance on what we’re doing.

We’re driving one way from Fort Lauderdale to Hard Rock Orlando. The car is booked for 1 day direct with Avis as we can drop it off at HRH easily (I hope). My questions are:

1. Included in our rental we have unlimited mileage, RSN (cover for roadside issues), LDW (cover the car), third party liability (for for bodily injury and property damage up to a combined single limit of $1,000,000) and PAI (cover myself). We basically picked everything other than ‘cover my belongings’. Is this everything we need?

2. When we collect the car from Avis, I understand they’ll want a credit card guarantee. Could I provide a credit card in my name even though it’s my fiancé driving (and his name is on the booking)? He doesn’t have a credit card so not sure how else we could fulfil this requirement.

3. If we hand over the credit card as the ‘deposit’ on file, I presume I can still pay for the car (I’ve reserved it at a good price but it’s pay on arrival) on my monzo debit card separately (to avoid transaction fees)?

4. Avis offer a refill service where they just charge you for whatever fuel you’ve used rather than you filling up yourself on the way to them. Would it be recommended (or not) to use this service? I feel like it would make things easier but maybe they’d rip us off.

5. Separately, will we need to fill up along the way anyway? The journey is around 210 miles and we’ve rented an intermediate SUV. I want to say I’d expect we wouldn’t need to but I could be completely wrong.