Notices
General Chat This forum is for general topics and chat type threads.

Old 17 Sep 19, 09:32 PM  
Link to this Post
lovesdisney
Excited about Disney

Mobile Career change - anybody done it?

I’ve worked as a nurse for nearly 20years... I’ve just completed my masters in advanced practice, have a good job but... I’m still feeling like I want a total career change... But to what I don’t know..
the current state of the nhs just leaves me disillusioned and as I approach 40yrs and still have nearly 30yrs til I pull my pension I wonder if there is more out there.
Has anyone had a total midlife crisis and changed career, and if you could change career what would you do?
Old 17 Sep 19, 09:36 PM  
Link to this Post
EllieP
Imagineer

Mobile

I can totally empathise with you on this! I have been a primary school teacher since 2001 and in 2016, after gaining my headteacher qualification I resigned as deputy head with nothing to go to. I was so disillusioned with the education system and it’s ridiculous emphasis on data and results! I wanted to teach, not level and assess young children. I started up my own tutoring business and now work part time on a childcare college in a local FE college. Although still teaching in essence, it is completely different to my chosen career. My husband also resigned as a psychiatric nurse in the same year and is now self employed in property and garden maintenance. We now have a much better work life balance and am enjoying spending more quality time as a family.
EllieP is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 17 Sep 19, 09:38 PM  
Link to this Post
Pino_Spetzberg
Imagineer

My perfect job would be driving a truck from coast to coast in the US or Canada.

Might be looking through rose tinted glasses.
Pino_Spetzberg is offline Boy Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 17 Sep 19, 09:42 PM  
Link to this Post
skalexander
Imagineer