Notices
Car Hire & Transportation Discuss the best way of getting around Florida.

Old 27 Sep 18, 01:25 PM  
Link to this Post
sprocket
Imagineer

Driving in Florida

I have been driving for over 20 years and very confident, I have no issues with driving through the likes of London or M25.
We have been to Orlando 7 times now, but I have never wanted to drive. Am I being stupid and is there anything to really worry about.
Im not sure if its down to:
- watching crime programs when I was younger and people taking the wrong exit off the freeway and being shot.
- watching to many movies where people take a wrong turn and find an abandoned village with murdering hill billies in.
- just wanting to relax and not drive.
- driving on the wrong side of the road and car.
- strange rules of the road, like being allowed to turn right on a red light.
- The Florida driving test is insainly easy and their driving is mad.

If I was to drive, should I worry about any of these things. We have friends that have been out there and i wouldnt call them a good driver in the UK and have no issues.
Aug 2017 - RPR & AKL, Oct 2019 - HRH & BC
Oct 2022 - RPR, Poly & AKL
sprocket is offline Boy Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 27 Sep 18, 01:29 PM  
Link to this Post
DreamsOfOrlando
Excited about Disney

My husband does the driving and he was really anxious about it before we went, but he said it’s super easy! He actually prefers driving in Orlando to home! You’ll be fine honestly
DreamsOfOrlando is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 27 Sep 18, 01:38 PM  
Link to this Post
kat90
VIP Dibber

Driving in the US is really really easy, I actually prefer it to driving at home!

I've only driven in Orlando once, but a few years ago I drove from Las Vegas to the Grand Canyon then to Phoenix. I think in total it was 6 hours. I always felt perfectly safe and except for the weather, I didn't have any issues.