Old 23 Jul 17, 08:31 PM  
Link to this Post
TrueBlue
Imagineer

TrueBlue's Reviews
Hotel Reviews: 3
Restaurant Reviews: 5
Wild West road trip - day 9 - Zion National Park

We had a bit of a lazy morning today. Didn't wake up till 7.30 but watched tv in bed before deciding to get up and organised for another day in Zion.

Today's plan was to try and do a bit of hiking then come back about 3pm and relax around the pool for a while. It didn't quite work out that way though ...

We went to Wild Cat Willies for breakfast. We had free breakfast included in the price of our room (which we didn't know about until we checked in). Instead of a buffet breakfast though Wild Cat Willies you order from the menu. I can't remember what we all had but I do know we had pancakes with various other items included like egg and bacon

I really wanted to hike up Walters Wiggles - the bit before you reach Angels Landing. I knew i'd never be able to go up Angels Landing as i'm not very good with heights and I knew this was a dangerous hike up to the top. Walters Wiggles looked really tough though

In the end we decided because of the heat that this wouldn't be a good idea. It was already gone 11am and by the time we got there i'd be really struggling with the mid day heat.

So we decided to head for the Emerald Pools instead.

We took the shuttle again from our hotel to the visitor's centre. This time I remembered to take our annual pass with us.

We walked through the entrance to the park and got on another shuttle bus into deepest Zion again. This time we were getting off at Zion Lodge as this is where the Emerald Pools hike starts.

There is a restaurant at Zion Lodge so we said we'd stop here for food on the way back down again. There was lots of huge tree's where people where sitting under them in the shade just relaxing

We crossed over the road and crossed the bridge and you are now on the path to Lower Emerald Pools

You follow the path along the Virgin River and it's all up hill