Notices
Beyond the Parks Attractions that are not covered by the main Theme Parks.

Closed Thread

Old 10 Apr 06, 06:21 PM  
Link to this Post
*cath*
VIP Dibber

theDIBB Guidebook
Guidebook Photos: 5
Orlando - Miami by train

We are travelling to orlando next September and we are going to visit Miami and probably stop overnight. I thought it might be nice to go by train to Miami rather than DH having to drive(i'm a non driver), plus he's a bit of a spotter as he works for the railways.
So, how easy is the US train system?
How far are the stations from the main parts of orlando/Miami?
Is it easy to get about in Miami without a car?

And any other advice appreciated

Thanks

2016 - Orlando - Town Center Villa
2017 - Rotonda West, Gulf Coast
2017 Nov - New York
2018 - Bradenton, Gulf Coast
2023 - Orlando/Gulf Coast
*cath* is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 10 Apr 06, 07:00 PM  
Link to this Post
Octal
Imagineer

You could try Amtrak

I've never tried that route, but a few years ago we travelled from Oakland in California to Merced to catch a bus to Yosemite park. Those American trains are unbelievably fast! I'd didn't realise till I was actually on one, I think it must be their size, we plonked ourselves on the upper deck, great fun
Old 10 Apr 06, 08:01 PM  
Link to this Post

I came back on sunday, and we drove to miami, it was so easy, the route was just straight all the way, it took us 3hr 40 minutes, sorry I cant help with what the train journey would be like, we stayed at the best western thunderbird which was on the beach, I booked it through air line network, it cost £120 to two nights, the rooms had everything in it. We did enjoy our stay, tell your husband to drive, and then take the train (it looked like a monorail through the town centre) he will see quite alot then. Good luck

toni
Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 10 Apr 06, 08:05 PM  
Link to this Post
Bozza
Imagineer