Notices
Trip Planning Florida Florida Holiday Planning Questions, Suggestions and Tips.

Old 23 Feb 20, 05:27 PM  
Link to this Post
MargaretMouse
VIP Dibber

Booking Flights

I have never booked flights separate always a package... all new to me...if I book eg VA or BA, when is the best time to look and also do I wait to my return flight is realised or do I book them separate, I hope that makes sense. I also have 8 thousand VA points I no that’s hardly any, but can I use them at all. I have also thought or maybe doing a fly drive and not picking up the car, but does this make it more expensive usually. I have also heard you can book a flight and add a cheap hotel for the night and not use it and this can make it cheaper and you then have ATOL protection. I’m not going to September 2021 and this is a new process for me, so any help please as I’m a newbie to this.
Old 23 Feb 20, 05:40 PM  
Link to this Post
mick
VIP Dibber

mick's Reviews
Hotel Reviews: 1
I can only answer a few of your questions.

VS flights are released 330 days out and BA 355. Most people book returns I guess so those dates are from your return dates.

We always hire a car but we did find a couple of years ago that a BA WT+ Fly Drive with a full size car for 4 weeks was cheaper than the VS PE flight alone.

Lots of Dibbers will say that BA is awful and VS can do no wrong - and naturally vice versa. However for us it's a 9 hour bus journey in a tin tube and ££££ matters to us. No discernible difference that would make us pay a substantial amount more for either.

Booking a fly drive will turn it into a package with ATOL protection and you can normally pay just a deposit.

Mick

Edited at 05:41 PM.
mick is offline Boy Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 23 Feb 20, 09:38 PM  
Link to this Post
MargaretMouse
VIP Dibber

Thanks so much, you have been very helpful.
Old 23 Feb 20, 09:44 PM  
Link to this Post
Lostbrain
Imagineer

Mobile