Old 14 Apr 13, 10:08 AM  
Link to this Post
CreakingStool
Apprentice Imagineer

theDIBB Guidebook
Guidebook Reviews: 3
Conboys in Crete - 10th Anniversary Special - PreTrip

Hi there,

This is my first attempt at a trip report, I love reading them so I hope I can make a good go at my own.

Introductions first.

My name is Juliet. I'm 36 and live in Manchester with my husband and 2 children. I'm the forum geek, I'm the planner, I'm organiser!

On this trip will be the 4 of us and also my mum and dad. Here are some pictures,

Me, Gav (35), Zach (6) and Imogen (3) taken at the Santa Express in Bury.

Sandra and David

Now some background to this holiday. 10 years ago (070603) we got married in Santorini, Greece. We have always loved Greece and have visited a few islands in our almost 20 years together. We had initially wanted to go back to Santorini with the children but prices were quite steep and we were limited to 7 or 14 day holidays due to flights, its also not got the sandy beaches out kids love so we decided on Crete instead.

We've not been to Crete before but the flights from the UK were of a good selection and its close to Santorini and could enable a trip although I don't think this will happen now. I also really want to visit the Palace of Knossos.

Last year, once we had decided that Santorini was out, I began stalking Easyjet. Every day I would check for flights, I was also on the mailing list and had the phone app installed. We are on a tight budget, isn't everyone these days but also I like to get a bargain. We like to travel independantly but with the Euro the way it is the actual holiday price needs to be as cheap as possible so that we can have plenty of spends.
The magic day arrived when I checked my phone app and the flights were released, I already knew when we wanted to go and this was the end of May into June so as to catch the school holidays. A bit of research on dates and I had my prices, contacted mum and she was happy too and so I booked