Notices
General Chat This forum is for general topics and chat type threads.

Old 22 Apr 20, 07:40 PM  
Link to this Post
Floridatilly
Imagineer

Mobile Universitys - degrees

What university did you or your child go to?
What subject did you / they study?

More importantly, did you / they enjoy it?

If so or if not, why?
Floridatilly is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 22 Apr 20, 07:45 PM  
Link to this Post
skalexander
Imagineer

I went to Manchester Metropolitan University and studied modern history with politics. I enjoyed my course, but struggled with being away from home and didn't really enjoy the whole experience.

I did my Graduate Diploma in Law by part-time distance learning at the University of Huddersfield, which was fine as I only had to attend twice. I did all my exams here.

I did my Legal Practice Course at the University of Law in Manchester. I did it full time, and flew over for classes, assessments and exams as it worked out cheaper than living in Manchester full time (not sure I could have hacked it anyway) and meant I could keep working as well. I made some friends and enjoyed it, but at the same time I was constantly knackered and totally skint, so just wanted it over and done with.

All in all, university for me was a means to an end, on all 3 occasions. I did not enjoy the student experience when I did my degree, but at the time felt huge pressure amongst my peers, at home and at uni, to pretend otherwise.
Old 22 Apr 20, 07:45 PM  
Link to this Post
TheGrahams
Apprentice Imagineer

Ds attended glasgow school of art and is now an architect, he loved it but not the job now, think it was different from what they said it would be.
Dd attend UWS and is now a primary school teacher and loved it and still does.

Billy , Liz , Liam & Gemma
TheGrahams is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 22 Apr 20, 07:57 PM  
Link to this Post
klr15
Imagineer