Notices
Disneyland California and West Coast Trip Planning Disneyland California and West Coast Holiday Planning Questions, Suggestions and Tips.

Old 12 Jan 20, 08:49 PM  
Link to this Post
SunbreezeFL
Imagineer

Complete Novice - West Coast

Hi

Really hoping someone could point me in the right direction, I'm trying to plan our first trip to the west coast. We are hoping to visit San Francisco, Magic Mountain (my 15 year old has his heart set on this), San Diego and Las Vegas.

I'm lost as to which way around is best and how long in each place is advisable - can anyone help?
SunbreezeFL is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 12 Jan 20, 09:03 PM  
Link to this Post
400ixl
Imagineer

You have to consider the size of area you are thinking of. It's huge and to try to do it in one holiday is not possible. If you are Florida familiar it's like trying to do the whole state and then double it.

Where do you want to see, San Francisco is far North, Las Vegas is on Nevada to the east and San Diego in the far south. That's 1,000 miles of driving just to go between them.

How long are you planning to go? I assume that you have no plans for Los Angeles as part of this as well?

Something like:

San Fran 3 nights
Six Flags 1 night
Yosemite 2 nights (if you plan to do it)
Drive to Las Vegas 1 night (too far in one day)
Las Vegas 3 nights
Drive to San Diego (can be done in one long day)
San Diego 4 nights

That's probably a minimum and will not include doing any of the Pacific Coast Highway or Los Angeles.

San Diego is also one of the more expensive airports to use on the West Coast.

Edited at 09:09 PM.
400ixl is offline Boy Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 12 Jan 20, 09:48 PM  
Link to this Post
cornishfrogboy
VIP Dibber