Notices
Food, Wine, Cooking & Eating Discussion on all things food related. Sharing recipes and giving tips and tricks to great food.

Old 14 Apr 22, 09:39 AM  
Link to this Post
inky1
Imagineer

Can I do this ?

So an yet another attempt to reduce food costs /waste and save time I have doubled up the quantity of a slow cooker curry .
It was made with fresh chicken but I plan to freeze what is leftover .
Can I then re heat in the slow cooker once defrosted or is there a better/safer way to do it
Im not good at reheating etc as I worry about food poisoning etc .
I know lots of people do it though just wondering what’s best ?
inky1 is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 14 Apr 22, 09:46 AM  
Link to this Post
storm
Imagineer

Google says no, food doesn't reach a high enough temp to kill off any bacteria. Slow cooking is a prolonged process so does but reheating is quicker & doesn't.
storm is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 14 Apr 22, 09:47 AM  
Link to this Post
inky1
Imagineer

So best do it in the oven then.
inky1 is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 14 Apr 22, 02:43 PM  
Link to this Post
m2k00
Apprentice Imagineer

I batch cook and freeze all the time. To reheat food i use the microwave and ensure it’s piping hot. You could though use the oven.
m2k00 is offline Boy Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 14 Apr 22, 02:56 PM  
Link to this Post
storm
Imagineer

Another who batch cooks. Somethings I reheat in the oven ie lasagne. Others on the hob ie curry. Not a microwave fan but DH uses it for chilli etc
storm is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 15 Apr 22, 08:59 AM  
Link to this Post
marypoppins38
Imagineer

I always reheat in the microwave apart from lasagne which goes in the oven.