Notices
General Chat This forum is for general topics and chat type threads.

Old 16 Apr 17, 10:25 AM  
Link to this Post
sparklegem
Serious Dibber

Mobile Leaving the NHS to be a travel agent - advice please

I'm looking for some careers advice and would be grateful if I could tap into your wisdom 😃

I have been a qualified nurse for 7 years and before that I worked as a healthcare assistant. Long story short, I've had it with the NHS and nursing for many reasons and I've been looking for a career change for a while now.

So it's recently dawned on me that I love researching and planning holidays for my family, and I'm really enthusiastic about helping friends out when they are asking for information about potential holiday destinations. I think I would love being a travel agent!

I know the pay isn't brilliant but my OH earns a very good wage and I'm at the point now where I'm more interested in doing something I enjoy rather than something that might pay a bit better but is not enjoyable to me.

I've no idea how to go about any of this and a bit of googling has not really helped improve my knowledge. If there are any travel agents that could offer any advice or information about how to get into the industry or help with any other knowledge, I would be very grateful.

Thanks in advance.
sparklegem is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 16 Apr 17, 10:48 AM  
Link to this Post
duchy
Imagineer

Most travel agents would be looking for you to have qualified at NVQ level 2 in travel and tourism nowadays.

Travel agency work nowadays is more about reaching sales targets than a travel consultant role the way it was in the good old days. With so many fewer high street agents around there's not an awful lot of entry level positions and would definitely be at NMW and include Saturday (and Sunday in some locations) working.
duchy is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List