Notices

Old 24 May 17, 08:45 AM  
Link to this Post
Melbatb
Imagineer

EUROCAMP: A Long Weekend On The French Atlantic Coast- day 1 Travel Day

This weekend is a long weekend here in France - Thursday is Ascension and Friday is basically a day where few work and the schools are shut!

Last week, F (DD12) asked if we could go away in a tent... Now I am the first to admit I don't do tents but I had read about Eurocamp on here. I had a look with F and was amazed at how reasonable it was - £120 for 4 nights in a mobile home on the Atlantic coast about a 3hour drive from home.

DH and DS15 were on board, a campsite was picked for it proximity to the beach and the slides it had and before you knew it I had booked! I elected to pay a whole extra £8 for a mobile home near the beach!

So who are we:
Me -Mel aged 48. I am a training manager in a small company. Mum of two and wife of one I love travelling!

DH - J aged 49. He works hard to fund our holidays! A keen cyclist but currently off the bike due to a nasty accident 5 weeks ago when he crashed into DS resulting in at least one cracked rib! Loves water!

DS - O aged 15. A delightful boy with a great sense of humour. He has just started learning to drive and loving it!

DD - F aged 12. A lovely lass who has recently discovered sewing! A future fashion designer? She is diabetic but doesn't let that get in her way!

The campsite is Le Vieux Port in Messanges. As you can see it is right next to the beach. It is an enormous site. It is a new departure for us to stay on a campsite but we are all looking forward to it!

We are staying in a 3 bed mobile home. It seems to have everything we need for the stay!

So back to today!

O and J were up at 6am - the kids gave school this morning and J has work. I am off (I don't work Wednesdays )

They left at 7.15am. F got up, had breakfast and got ready, having another look at the poem she wrote last night for her French class this morning (not her strongest subject! )