Notices
General Chat This forum is for general topics and chat type threads.

Old 3 Oct 19, 11:38 AM  
Link to this Post
catherinesian
Imagineer

HR / work strange issue

I work as a Financial Controller in a Finance department of 7 individuals. the Head of Finance (my boss) has implemented a flat hierarchy so we all report directly into her (qualified FC, assistants, credit control, banking).

Within the team there is two qualified accountant FC, myself and my colleague (J) who over the 3 years I've been here has had two years off on maternity and is returning in Feb 2020. Prior to this, J was the operational lead of the department (our HoF is part time and often not around so we need someone to lead the team day to day).

The first mat leave a contractor took over the role of mat leave cover team lead (and subsequently went off with stress so in reality I took on the role back then, but that's another story). J came back part time and only for only 3 months so didn't really go back into her old role and just did ad hoc work. Since J went on mat leave for the second time, I have again taken on 90% of the role of the operational lead. My boss recognized this back in May and gave me a slight pay increase (nowhere near the salary of J). There was a promise that she would sort my role out to be team lead but needed to investigate how to do that whilst J was on mat leave as you have to be careful (it would involve J being officially demoted).

A few weeks ago my boss received a promotion which would mean she was hardly around any more (FD of multiple sites so lots of travel) so she told me she needed me to take on a lot more responsibility. I asked what would happen to my role and she said she would speak to HR and get back to me.

She's called me into her office this morning and said unfortunately there is nothing she can do with regards to demoting J and promoting me until J comes back from mat leave.