Notices
General Chat This forum is for general topics and chat type threads.

Old 19 May 17, 02:44 PM  
Link to this Post
fantasy
VIP Dibber

Melanoma wider excision

After removal and 6 internal and external, I have melanoma.i am going for a 1cm margin further excision just to be safe.
As it's on my back /side kidney area I will be off work . My work involves health care and bending stretching etc.
Has anyone had this procedure and how long before back to normal? First procedure stitches were in for 2 weeks.
Old 19 May 17, 02:49 PM  
Link to this Post
Button17
Imagineer

Mobile

I had MM removed from my R arm several years ago. I also work in health care. I managed to burst my sutures so ended up being off work for 3 weeks and the non patient contact for a further 3 weeks to avoid infection.

Just take it easy, fon't rush back to work as may end up being off longer.

All the best wishes to you and speedy recovery xx
Button17 is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 19 May 17, 03:01 PM  
Link to this Post
Trouble3
Apprentice Imagineer

Trouble3's Reviews
Hotel Reviews: 1
Restaurant Reviews: 1
I had one removed from the same area on my back quite a few years ago. I also agree that you really need to take it easy whilst it's healing, but also after the stitches are taken out; my lovely 'thin line' scar split open the afternoon after I'd had the stitches out, just reaching for something in Asda... what a mess, blood all over the place and a swift visit to A&E, where they had to try to re-close the 'healed' wound. I now have a 2 inch scar that's almost a cm wide.

Good luck.
Old 19 May 17, 03:17 PM  
Link to this Post
paw
Imagineer