Notices

Old 29 Aug 15, 10:17 AM  
Link to this Post
ally1966
Imagineer

A Complete Novice In New York - Day 5 Woodbury Common, Macy's And Just A Little Bit Of Shopping!

Today we were off to the Premium Outlet Mall at Woodbury Common. I had booked the tickets for this bus trip ages ago through Groupon for the bargain price of $22 each (the bus fare is normally double that!).

None of the others had been interested in joining us for this one, so it was just me and the kids today. We had our usual brekkie in the hotel and headed out to the Row NYC hotel just up the road on 8th St, where we were to meet our bus.

We were half an hour early but there was already a rapidly growing queue at the bus stop. Some people had large suitcases which they were obviously intending to fill with their bargains - they made me feel like quite an amateur!

Whilst standing waiting for the bus we witnessed a fight worthy of Jerry Springer break out between 2 of the ticket touts - these people are everywhere, trying to sell tickets for the various bus tours - one of them accused the other of poaching 2 of his customers and stealing the $2 commission. They were really going for it, pushing, kicking and screaming abuse at each other. At one point, the woman was pushed into the road and fell over in front of the oncoming traffic. Really could have been very nasty, and all over $2. It kind of put things into perspective that people can be so desperate when most of us in the queue were planning on spending 100s if not 1000s of dollars that day.

Drama over, the bus pulled up. The driver exchanged our voucher for tickets and we were soon on our way. The drive out of the city was really quite pleasant and provided some different views across the Hudson. It took just over an hour.