Notices
Disney Cruise Line and Other Cruise Planning Cruise Questions and Tips.

Old 8 May 22, 09:10 AM  
Link to this Post
Sew109
Imagineer

MSC Cruise

Hi has anyone been on an MSC cruise and happy to share their experience.

We would have booked a transatlantic for this year but due to circumstances we thought we would be unable to have a holiday this year so we booked for next.

Things have changed and we are now looking at being able to have a cruise this year and both in terms of dates and price there is an MSC that looks great I am just a little nervouse as not been with them and they are a lot cheaper.
Sew109 is offline Boy Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 8 May 22, 09:30 AM  
Link to this Post
Trouble3
Apprentice Imagineer

Trouble3's Reviews
Hotel Reviews: 1
Restaurant Reviews: 1
I've no first hand knowledge, but a few friends have been on MSC cruises; here's a few things they've said:

MSC are Italian, so although English is spoken, so are several other languages and the announcements become very annoying in several languages.

Food is apparently a bit more European than English/American.

Entertainment is not to the standard of the US/UK cruise companies.

European cruises tend to drop off and pick up people at every port, which can be a bit annoying (seems some Italians etc like to go away just for a couple of days cruising). Cruises further afield, i.e. Caribbean, tend to not to have this.

All friends that have been on MSC have described in various terms of "european cheap and cheerful". Some will use them again, some won't; the ones that won't prefer the dressing up standard of P&O etc.

This from one of the cruise agents is quite apt:
"English is the main working language on-board but announcements are made in multiple language: English, Spanish, French, German and Italian. With the multi-lingual culture of the ships, entertainment is mainly music-based or planned around visual acts such as acrobats".