Notices
Disneyland California and West Coast Trip Planning Disneyland California and West Coast Holiday Planning Questions, Suggestions and Tips.

Old 26 May 20, 08:48 PM  
Link to this Post
sarahmarie173
Apprentice Imagineer

insulin users

Hi all,

meant to be travelling to Cali for 8 night fingers crossed in august. I was wondering if anyone has some answers to a few questions as my nurse clearly has no clue so I gave up asking her,

1. how did you administer your long acting insulin, normally I would take this at 9pm here however, 8 hours is a long time difference.

2. my nurse did mention splitting my background in half and to start when im in the air travelling to the destination but this just confused me!

3.i have been told by a friend on a diabetic site that reducing background insulin can stop hypos from long walking etc.

i'm just after peoples general tips and experiences, if anyone can help me I would be so grateful, this is my first year travelling since diagnosis so im a bit of a nervous Nelly about it all.

x
Old 26 May 20, 09:09 PM  
Link to this Post
KarenG
Imagineer

Mobile

Hi - is your background only once a day and not split doses? I do mine twice a day so I just nudge the time forward / backward for a few days leading up to it. I don’t find it the end of the world if it’s a bit early or a bit late but depends on your dosage I guess?

Personally I would not reduce my long acting for lots of exercise but I might instead take less short acting vs CHO (what is your ratio?)

I have found hot weather makes insulin absorption faster so that’s something to be mindful of.

I’m offering this only as my experience and I’m the first to say that I’m quite relaxed about it as I’ve been used to it for forty odd years - just check, check, check your levels as much as possible. I LOVE my Libre for that. It’s absolutely brilliant for travelling.
Old 26 May 20, 09:11 PM  
Link to this Post
KarenG
Imagineer

Mobile