Notices
General Trip Planning Other Holiday Planning.

Old 14 Jul 17, 08:12 PM  
Link to this Post
DisneyDaffodil
Imagineer

Vietnam suggestions

We are considering visiting Vietnam next summer. Our adult son teaches in Hoi Chi Minh and we would love to visit him there naturally. However, we would also like to visit some more natural beauty spots and beaches in the country as we are not very keen on cities generally.

Can anyone suggest a beach resort to stay at close to Hoi Chi Minh? Any hotels in the city or beach resort? Any places we really should see? General tips? Suggestions for flights and prices?

Of course our son will be quite knowledgable as he has been there for nearly 3 years but I would like to have a few ideas to start researching things we would like to see. I have no knowledge of this part of the world at all so this would be a completely different adventure for us so any advice please 😀

Edited at 08:13 PM.
DisneyDaffodil is online now Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 15 Jul 17, 09:11 AM  
Link to this Post

It is going back a few years now but I spent threee weeks in Vietnam as part of a five month trip around Asia.

Ho Chi Minh is most definitely a city, quite a modern one even in 2004. Hanoi was the less developed of the two main cities. In HCM, you will find the usual array of hotels like in any city but beach resorts are going to be thin on the ground.

Looking at a map, there is somewhere called Vung Tau which looks like it would be the beach weekend retreat, but it is three to four hours away.

I did not go there myself, I took the train between Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh and there are a number of lovely beachy stop offs on the way. I visited Natrang, Danang and Hue on the way. The first two were mor beachy and Hue is the place everybody gets clothes made!
Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 15 Jul 17, 09:23 AM  
Link to this Post
DisneyDaffodil
Imagineer

Mobile