Notices
Photo, Video & Vlogs Photography, Video and Vlog discussions

Old 29 May 17, 11:16 AM  
Link to this Post
Fraser789
Very Serious Dibber

DLSR vs Compact Camera

Hi guys,

I wanted to get a new camera for our holiday. It would mainly be used for pictures and occasional videos. I would say I'm a beginner when it comes to photography.

I have been looking at the Nikon D3300 or D3400. My only worry is would this be too big to carry around the parks? Has anyone ever taken a DLSR as their main camera?

I have also considered a compact with a 1 inch sensor (Canon G7X, Sony RX100 etc) which would be ok for low light situations.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
Fraser789 is offline Boy Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 29 May 17, 11:35 AM  
Link to this Post
kaytronika
slightly serious Dibber

We've taken both as we do a little photography as a hobby and vlog on our YouTube channel.. I love the SLR for wildlife parks like Animal Kingdom... Can't beat having full control of the camera and a decent viewfinder.

For most other stuff the G7X has been spot on (and previously the TZ60) for photography and video. Obviously the G7X handles low light better with the f1.8 lens.

Size wise, the SLR is quite a weight to carry but I really don't mind carrying it. We don't carry a lot of other items.
kaytronika is offline Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 29 May 17, 11:43 AM  
Link to this Post
Excited6910
Imagineer

I love my DSLR but it got on my nerves around the parks. I will still take it (for the odd occasion) but we bought a canon G9X for a better alternative to our old compact so we will take that every day.

Loved our Second “once in a lifetime" so much we're doing it again
Excited6910 is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 29 May 17, 12:02 PM  
Link to this Post
wanye
Imagineer

ive taken my dslr a few times, and most of the time it stays in the villa.