Notices
General Trip Planning Other Holiday Planning.

Old 18 Apr 18, 07:50 PM  
Link to this Post
Goosieloosie
Apprentice Imagineer

Catching a connecting flight...how does it work?

I'm trying to plan a trip to New York flying with BA, can someone please tell me when you do a connecting flight in the UK do you clear security at the first (local) airport and get rid of your suitcase? We're flying from Newcastle to Heathrow terminal 5 and onto NY. I'm trying to work out how much time we'll need to get from one flight to the next at Heathrow, do you think one hour will be enough? I've never done a connecting flight before so have no idea how it works. Could someone please tell me?
Goosieloosie is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 18 Apr 18, 09:22 PM  
Link to this Post
braby
Serious Dibber

If you are checked through on one ticket your bags will be taken from you in Newcastle and you will collect them again in NYC. You will pass security in newcastle, when you get to Heathrow you will be required to have your documents checked again before you can enter the departure areas, as for time an hour should be good but doesn't allow for much time if you have any sort of delay out of newcastle.
braby is offline Boy Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 18 Apr 18, 09:36 PM  
Link to this Post
marypoppins38
Imagineer

We travelled Manchester to Heathrow Term 5 then to LA recently and had to clear security again in Heathrow. An hour would be using it but I am sure they wouldn't offer that connection if it couldn't be done.
marypoppins38 is offline Girl Mouse Click to view Members Trip Plans Add Member to Ignore List
Old 19 Apr 18, 08:39 PM  
Link to this Post
stockport1965
Apprentice Imagineer